Sat, 04 Dec 2021

2021 Princess of Asturias Awards presented in Spain

23 Oct 2021, 07:49 GMT+10

MADRID, Oct. 22 (Xinhua) -- The 2021 Princess of Asturias Awards were presented in Spain on Friday.

The winners include Serbian artist Marina Abramovic (Arts Award), American journalist and writer Gloria Steinem (Communication and Humanities Award), and Spanish Paralympian swimmer Teresa Perales (Sports Award).

The event was presided over by Spanish Princess Leonor and her parents at the Campoamor Theater in Oviedo.

The Princess of Asturias Awards have eight categories such as Communication and Humanities, Social Sciences, Arts, Literature, Technical and Scientific Research, International Cooperation, Concord, and Sports.

The Awards have been awarded since 2015 after it changed name from the Prince of Asturias Awards. These awards were declared of "exceptional contribution to the cultural heritage of Humanity" by UNESCO in 2005.

More Barcelona News

Access More

Sign up for Barcelona News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!